Press Release

Washington Teachers' Union Election Results

For Release: 

Wednesday, October 27, 2010


Janet Bass

—A runoff election for three of the top officers of the Washington Teachers’ Union will be necessary, because the candidates did not receive a majority of the votes cast, the American Federation of Teachers announced tonight.

Current WTU President George Parker and current WTU General Vice President Nathan Saunders, and their respective slates, will face each other in a runoff election. The new WTU treasurer will be Sallie Littlejohn, who received a clear majority.

Balloting for the runoff will commence in mid-November with the results expected by early December.

The American Arbitration Association prepared, mailed and counted the ballots.

The WTU has been under American Federation of Teachers’ administratorship principally for purposes of handling the election process. Because of delays in the election, the AFT developed a mechanism to provide a voting opportunity for all those who were active members when the election should have taken place in May, as well as new WTU members as of this school year. Those who were no longer active members this school year voted on a challenged ballot, which according to the election rules, would only have been counted if they would have affected the outcome. They did not.

The final vote tally was:

Nathan Saunders—334 votes

George Parker—313 votes

Elizabeth Davis—197 votes

Christopher Bergfalk—37 votes

AFT oversight of the WTU election will continue until a new slate of officers is elected and installed.

# # # #

The AFT represents 1.7 million pre-K through 12th-grade teachers; paraprofessionals and other school-related personnel; higher education faculty and professional staff; federal, state and local government employees; nurses and healthcare workers; and early childhood educators.