Press Release

High School Graduate from Ozone Park, N.Y., Wins Robert G. Porter Scholarship

For Release: 

Wednesday, July 13, 2011


Tom Lansworth

 WASHINGTON—Michael Grasberg, a 2011 graduate of Lawrence Woodmere Academy and a resident of Ozone Park, N.Y., is one of four highly accomplished high school graduates awarded a Robert G. Porter Scholarship today during the American Federation of Teachers’ TEACH conference.

Every year, the AFT presents an $8,000 scholarship to each of four exceptional high school seniors who are the children of AFT members. Recipients must show outstanding service to their community and plan to pursue a career in labor, education, health or government service.

In addition to excelling academically, Grasberg has been extremely active outside the classroom. He was Student Council president and a member of his school’s Model United Nations team. His experience in the school’s Mock Trial program inspired him to want to become a lawyer. As a volunteer—with his mother—at the local Food Bank, he worked with an autistic 5-year-old girl. At the Rockaway Boulevard Artists Alliance, he helped create art experiences for children.

Grasberg plans to attend Baruch College at City University of New York, where he will study mathematics and pre-law. His mother, Michelle Grasberg, is a member of the United Federation of Teachers and teaches in New York City.

The Robert G. Porter Scholars Program is named in honor of the late AFT secretary-treasurer, who served for more than 30 years. Porter was known for his commitment to improving the quality of public education and public service.

The TEACH (Together Educating America’s Children) conference brings together AFT members from across the country for workshops, discussions and speakers addressing the issues and changes confronting U.S. educators.

# # # #

The AFT represents 1.7 million pre-K through 12th-grade teachers; paraprofessionals and other school-related personnel; higher education faculty and professional staff; federal, state and local government employees; nurses and healthcare workers; and early childhood educators.