Press Release

High School Graduate from Fairfax County, Va. Wins Robert G. Porter Scholarship

For Release: 

Sunday, July 11, 2010


George Jackson

—Kenya Anderson, a 2010 graduate of South County Secondary School in Lorton, Va., is one of four highly accomplished high school graduates to receive a Robert G. Porter Scholarship Sunday at the American Federation of Teachers national convention.

Each year, the AFT presents an $8,000 scholarship to each of four outstanding high school seniors who are the children of AFT members. Recipients must show outstanding service to their community and plan to pursue a career in labor, education, health or government service.

In addition to excelling academically, Anderson has been extremely active outside the classroom. As a member of the National Math Honor Society, she helped tutor classmates and younger students. She sang in the school chorus and acted in theater department productions. Anderson and her family are Hurricane Katrina survivors who moved to Northern Virginia with virtually nothing after the storm.

The Robert G. Porter Scholars Program is named in honor of the late AFT secretary-treasurer, who served for more than 30 years. Porter was known for his commitment to improving the quality of public education and public service.

Anderson’s mother, Denise Christopher, is a member of the Fairfax County Federation of Teachers. The family lives in Burke, Va.

Kenya Anderson will be attending the University of Virginia in Charlottesville in the fall, where she plans to study mass communication and journalism.

The AFT is holding its biennial convention July 7-11 in Seattle. Coming together under the theme “Building Futures Together,” more than 3,000 delegates will vote on major union policies that address the need to save and strengthen public education, build common cause with communities, and improve the institutions in which our members work.

# # # #

The AFT represents 1.7 million pre-K through 12th-grade teachers; paraprofessionals and other school-related personnel; higher education faculty and professional staff; federal, state and local government employees; nurses and healthcare workers; and early childhood educators.