AFT - American Federation of Teachers

Shortcut Navigation:
 
Email ShareThis

Track the Status of State-Level Certification

The following list reflects only standards and certification regulations developed at the state level which are not specifically tied to the NCLB requirements. A number of states have always had standards for employment for all paraprofessionals and the NCLB requirements have simply become an added layer applicable only to those working in Title I programs. (revised 6/2/06)

 

ALABAMA LETTER OF APPROVAL

Required. 30 hours of formal training; permanent

 

ALASKA

Alaska State Paraprofessional Performance Standards with three levels:  entry, intermediate and advanced

 

ARIZONA

NONE

 

ARKANSAS

Training standards established for paraeducators in special education programs.

 

CALIFORNIA

NONE

 

COLORADO

NONE

 

CONNECTICUT

NONE

 

DELAWARE STATE PERMIT

Requirements are not specified. Must have "evaluated experience and training" and "skills relevant to the position"; permanent.

 

FLORIDA

Legislation outlining career ladder with LEA option (not mandatory) passed in 1998.
Current regulations specify standards and procedures that apply to teacher aides including health, age, knowledge of policies & instructional practices.

 

GEORGIA STATE LICENSE

2 years of college or 50 hours is required; renewable every 2 years, requires additional 50 hours instruction or inservice.

 

HAWAII

Three-tier training program for special education. State is in the process of expanding to accommodate Title I positions.
Level 1 and 2 training provided by state.
Level 3 training provided by community colleges.

 

IDAHO

Idaho Paraprofessional Standards and Competencies outline recommended training and evaluation procedures.

 

ILLINOIS STATE CERTIFICATE

Completion of a teacher aide training program approved by the superintendent or 30 semester hours required; permanent.

 

INDIANA

Special education--appropriately trained paraprofessionals may work under the direction of a teacher or related services personnel. Public agencies must provide preservice and inservice training.

 

IOWA

New hires must complete inservice in first year of employment.
LEAs must have staff development plan that includes paraeducators.
Special education--preservice and inservice requirements.
Level 1 Certificate--granted to those who complete a recognized paraeducator preparation program with 90 clock hours of training.
Level 2 Certificate--AA degree or 62 hours of college education and two semester hours of coursework with 100 hours of supervised practicum.

 

KANSAS STATE PERMIT

Special education only
Effective May 2000--no longer in state regulations but districts must follow these standards in order to receive state reimbursement of approximately $8,000 per special education paraprofessional.
Level 1--20 hours, renewable every year.
Level 2--30 semester hours & 450 hours inservice & 2 years experience at level 1; renew every 3 years.
Level 3--60 semester hours or AA degree & 900 hours inservice & 3 years at Level 2; renew every 3 years.

 

KENTUCKY

NONE

 

LOUISIANA

NONE

 

MAINE STATE CERTIFICATE

Education technician/level I--high school diploma, orientation, ongoing inservice.
Education technician/level II--2 years college & inservice.
Education technician/level III--3 years college & inservice.
All are renewed yearly.

 

MARYLAND

State task force report recommending licensure standards presented to state Legislature in 1998;
2002--state standards establish high school diploma as baseline for employment. Paraprofessional certificate requires 15 hours of training and 750 hours of employment. Renewable every 5 years with completion of additional training.
Certificate is not required for employment.

 

MASSACHUSETTS

NONE

 

MICHIGAN

NONE

 

MINNESOTA

Knowledge and skill standards for special education established in 1997. State law requires LEAs to ensure paraeducators in special education have sufficient skills and also requires LEAs to provide training opportunities.

 

MISSISSIPPI

Assistant teacher: complete the reading, language arts & math portions of a current nationally normed eighth grade standardized achievement test (exempt if holding a teaching certificate); HS diploma or GED; participate in annual training provided by the district.

 

MISSOURI STATE REQUIREMENT

Instructional aides only, 60 hours college required, renewed yearly

 

MONTANA

Training standards established for special education paraprofessionals.

 

NEBRASKA

NONE

 

NEVADA

NONE

 

NEW HAMPSHIRE STATE CERTIFICATE

HS diploma, 1 year experience; complete a 2-week orientation session on special education.
Tier 1 certified paraprofessionals must complete 50 hours in areas determined by the professional development master plan for their district.
Tier 2 and 3 paraprofessionals must complete additional training.

 

NEW JERSEY

Paraprofessional positions are approved by the county superintendent of schools who must develop job descriptions and standards for appointment.

 

NEW MEXICO STATE REQUIREMENT

A paraprofessional must complete a training program designed by the local school district to meet competencies defined by the state. Training varies according to district and how it uses paraprofessionals.

 

NEW YORK STATE CERTIFIED

Teacher aide: must fulfill civil service requirements; responsibilities are non-teaching.
Teaching assistant--temporary license: HS diploma; responsibilities are instructional in nature.
Teaching assistant--continuing certificate: 6 hours of collegiate study; one year of experience; responsibilities are instructional in nature.
Teaching assistant--level I: HS diploma; satisfactory level of performance on the New York State Teacher Certification Examination Test.
Teaching assistant--level II: all requirements of level I plus 6 hours of collegiate study.
Teaching assistant--level III: all requirements of level II plus 18 hours of collegiate study.
Teaching assistant--preprofessional certificate: all requirements of level III plus must be matriculated in a program registered as leading to teacher certification.

 

NORTH CAROLINA

Department of Labor Teacher Assistant Certificate requires completion of in-service training, 2 years employment and completion of related training (six core courses in an early childhood program or a teacher assistant program offered by a community college).

 

NORTH DAKOTA

NONE

 

OHIO STATE PERMIT

Education aide--"Skills sufficient to do the job," 1-year permit.
Education assistant--HS diploma and participation in unspecified inservice training under a 1-year permit; renewed every 4 years.

 

OKLAHOMA

NONE

 

OREGON

NONE

 

PENNSYLVANIA STATE CERTIFIED

Private schools only.

 

RHODE ISLAND STATE REQUIREMENT

High school diploma; training at discretion of district. Knowledge and skill standards established for special education and bilingual paraprofessionals.

 

SOUTH CAROLINA

HS diploma, participation in preservice and inservice training programs for aides.

 

SOUTH DAKOTA

NONE

 

TENNESSEE

NONE

 

TEXAS STATE CERTIFIED

Education aide--HS diploma and experience working with children.
Education aide II--15 hours of college or "demonstrated proficiency."
Education aide III--30 hours of college & 3 years as aide I or II.
Legislation introduced for revision, 1999.

 

UTAH

Standards for special education paraprofessional roles and preparation. Work is currently under way to revise for Title I paraprofessionals.

 

VERMONT STATE CERTIFIED

Personnel standards for paraprofessionals included in special education rules in 2002.

 

VIRGINIA

NONE

 

WASHINGTON

Current system defined but not mandatory. Core knowledge and skill competencies established for all paraprofessionals.

 

WEST VIRGINIA

Teacher aides and teacher assistants have no standards for employment.
A paraprofessional license applies to employees working at a higher level of independence, and license sets standards for training.

 

WISCONSIN STATE LICENSE

Standards for special education paraprofessionals.

 

WYOMING

NONE